Catalogue data · Free to cite · CSV

ECE 22.06 vs DOT vs Snell how many helmets carry which certification

Counts across all 14,839 helmet pages in the ALLR catalogue, by certification, by region and by price band, taken from the same data the certification filter on the helmets page uses.

Download CSVBrowse ECE 22.06 helmetsCite this page

Live count, read when this page was rendered (2026-10-24).

Computed from the tables below

The numbers

  • Of 14,839 complete helmet pages, 7,555 (50.9%) name ECE 22.06 and 4,955 (33.4%) name DOT. Snell is named on 539 (3.6%).
  • 2,471 pages (16.7%) are dual-certified ECE 22.06 and DOT. Among the 10,992 pages that state any standard, that is 22.5%.
  • 3,847 pages (25.9%) state no standard at all in the listing text we read. That is a gap in listings, not a finding that those helmets are uncertified.
  • Counted over the Canadian build of the catalogue (15,118 pages on the helmets shelf, of which 279 are visors, plates and other spare parts and are excluded).
In stock and shipping to the region

Certification mix by region

For each region: complete helmet pages with at least one retailer that has the helmet in stock and ships to that region. Every helmet sits in exactly one group, so each column adds to 100%. Large figure is the share, small figure is the number of helmet pages.

Share of helmet pages available to each region, by certification group (mutually exclusive).
Certification groupCanadaUnited StatesEuropean UnionUnited Kingdom
ECE 22.06 and DOT19.5%2,24620.4%2,26316.0%1,50916.8%1,657
ECE 22.06, no DOT35.8%4,12835.8%3,97849.8%4,70748.1%4,758
ECE 22.05 and DOT (no 22.06)3.8%4384.0%4401.9%1762.5%244
ECE 22.05, no DOT (no 22.06)6.0%6956.1%6807.9%7507.8%774
DOT, no ECE13.6%1,56314.3%1,5941.2%1182.8%275
Snell or FIM only0.3%370.3%290.7%620.5%48
Not stated21.0%2,42719.2%2,13022.6%2,13421.6%2,133
Helmet pages available11,53411,1149,4569,889

Any mention, not exclusive

Share of helmet pages available to each region that name the standard. A dual-certified helmet counts in both rows.
Names the standardCanadaUnited StatesEuropean UnionUnited Kingdom
ECE 22.0655.3%6,37456.2%6,24165.7%6,21664.9%6,415
ECE 22.059.8%1,13310.1%1,1209.8%92610.3%1,018
DOT36.8%4,24738.7%4,29719.1%1,80322.0%2,176
Snell3.8%4414.2%4632.0%1922.4%237
FIM2.5%2922.6%2942.8%2652.9%284
Lowest landed price, region's own currency

Certification by price band

Each helmet page is placed in a band by its lowest landed price to the region (item, shipping, duty and brokerage; sales tax excluded, as everywhere on ALLR). Bands are in the region’s own currency, so they are not exchange-rate equivalents of each other. Large figure is the share of the band, small figure is the number of helmet pages.

Canada (CAD): helmets available and priced.
Price band (CA$)Helmet pagesECE 22.06DOTBothNot stated
under 1001991.5%347.7%951.0%249.2%98
100–1991,43235.8%51236.5%52310.6%15229.5%422
200–3993,99261.1%2,43830.5%1,21718.1%72217.3%690
400–6993,30261.0%2,01336.3%1,19721.0%69519.0%627
700 and over2,60954.0%1,40846.6%1,21525.9%67522.6%590
United States (USD): helmets available and priced.
Price band (US$)Helmet pagesECE 22.06DOTBothNot stated
under 10081321.5%17536.9%3004.4%3637.8%307
100–1993,47453.7%1,86437.0%1,28616.9%58717.3%600
200–3993,85763.4%2,44434.3%1,32320.9%80616.7%643
400–6992,05863.3%1,30345.4%93429.2%60118.1%372
700 and over91249.9%45549.8%45425.5%23322.8%208
European Union (EUR): helmets available and priced.
Price band (€)Helmet pagesECE 22.06DOTBothNot stated
under 1001,01351.9%52613.8%1408.4%8529.7%301
100–1993,27263.6%2,08116.6%54213.4%44023.0%754
200–3993,32170.3%2,33419.5%64816.6%55019.1%634
400–6991,38172.3%99925.3%34922.9%31622.4%310
700 and over46958.8%27626.4%12425.2%11828.8%135
United Kingdom (GBP): helmets available and priced.
Price band (£)Helmet pagesECE 22.06DOTBothNot stated
under 1002,24056.9%1,27515.7%35210.2%22926.3%589
100–1993,44765.7%2,26619.1%66014.6%50319.8%681
200–3993,00869.2%2,08225.2%75720.0%60220.1%605
400–6991,00668.1%68532.7%32926.7%26922.5%226
700 and over18856.9%10741.5%7828.7%5417.0%32

Median lowest price by certification group

Median of each helmet page’s lowest landed price to the region, in the region’s currency. Small figure is the number of priced pages.
Certification groupCanada (CAD)United States (USD)European Union (EUR)United Kingdom (GBP)
ECE 22.06 and DOT$489.052,246$319.992,263€260.911,509£230.211,657
ECE 22.06, no DOT$397.954,128$252.883,978€219.194,707£175.714,758
ECE 22.05 and DOT (no 22.06)$300.23438$185.99440€186.46176£152.30244
ECE 22.05, no DOT (no 22.06)$300.40695$186.52680€162.37750£124.50774
DOT, no ECE$466.211,563$229.991,594€188.70118£223.24275
Snell or FIM only$1,360.4937$923.2329€999.0062£739.9948
Not stated$400.602,427$238.852,130€205.022,134£160.172,133
Including out-of-stock pages

Whole catalogue, by build

Every complete helmet page in each regional build, whether or not it is in stock. Certification belongs to the helmet page, so the catalogue-wide counts are expected to match across builds; availability is where the regions differ.
MeasureCanadaUnited StatesEuropean UnionUnited Kingdom
Pages on the helmets shelf15,11815,11815,11815,118
Spare parts removed279279279279
Complete helmets14,83914,83914,83914,839
ECE 22.06 and DOT16.7%2,47116.7%2,47116.7%2,47116.7%2,471
ECE 22.06, no DOT34.3%5,08434.3%5,08434.3%5,08434.3%5,084
ECE 22.05 and DOT (no 22.06)3.7%5533.7%5533.7%5533.7%553
ECE 22.05, no DOT (no 22.06)5.9%8815.9%8815.9%8815.9%881
DOT, no ECE13.0%1,93113.0%1,93113.0%1,93113.0%1,931
Snell or FIM only0.5%720.5%720.5%720.5%72
Not stated25.9%3,84725.9%3,84725.9%3,84725.9%3,847
Definitions

Method

  • Source. The helmets shelf of the ALLR catalogue, read through loadCatalogCategoryAll in src/app/api/catalog/route.js, the loader behind /api/catalog. Each page’s certifications are the keys the certification filter uses (ece-22.06, ece-22.05, dot, snell, fim), read from the retailer listing titles and tags.
  • Counting. src/lib/helmet-cert-aggregate.js. Spare parts are removed with the site’s own isHelmetPart classifier. “Available” means in stock at a retailer that ships to the region.
  • What this does not say. It counts what listings state, not what a helmet has actually passed, and it does not rank helmets by safety. For independent crash-test ratings see the UK government’s SHARP scheme.

See also the buying guides, how ALLR verifies prices, and the landed cost by country tables that explain why the same helmet costs different amounts in different regions.

Questions

Frequently asked questions

  • What does “Not stated” mean? Are those helmets uncertified?

    No. “Not stated” means none of the retailer listing text and tags we read names a certification, so the catalogue cannot say. Many are sold to markets where the retailer simply does not print the standard. They are counted separately so the other shares are not inflated, and the page always prints both the share of all complete helmets and the share of helmets that state a standard.

  • What is counted?

    Helmet product pages on ALLR, not distinct physical models. One page can cover several colourways and one model can have several pages when its graphics are sold as separate editions. Visors, ratchet plates, pads and other spare parts that sit on the helmet shelf are excluded using the site's own spare-part classifier, and the page prints how many were removed.

  • What does “dual-certified” mean here?

    A helmet page whose listing names both ECE 22.06 and DOT. The groups table splits every helmet into mutually exclusive buckets (ECE 22.06 and DOT, ECE 22.06 only, ECE 22.05 and DOT, ECE 22.05 only, DOT only, Snell or FIM only, not stated) so the shares add to 100%. Snell is shown as a count of any mention because it usually sits on top of DOT.

  • Why four regions and not Australia?

    The catalogue prices four buyer markets (Canada, the United States, the EU and the United Kingdom). Australia is not one of them, so we do not publish an Australian availability figure rather than guess one.

  • Where does the data come from, and how fresh is it?

    From the same catalogue build the cert filter on the helmets page reads, counted when this page renders and kept for up to fifteen minutes. If the live read is unavailable the page shows a dated snapshot and says so at the top. The CSV is built from the same numbers.

For writers

Cite this page

Free to use and free to link to. The full set of tables is also a CSV: helmet-certification-availability.csv. If you think a helmet is classified wrongly, tell us and we will fix it.

Plain text
HTML link
Page URL