Cardo vs Sena in 2026: which motorcycle intercom to buy, with CA$ landed prices by use case
Solo, two-up, small group or big mesh group: which intercom should you buy? A buyer's pick from Cardo and Sena for each use, with manufacturer specs, warranty terms and landed CA$ prices from Canadian and overseas stores (ALLR data, 2026-10-23).
Nobody pays to appear in this guide. Where a link leads to a retailer or a brand store, ALLR earns no commission on anything you buy through it. How ALLR makes money
Buy the brand your riding friends already own, because Cardo's DMC mesh and Sena's Mesh intercom do not join one group. If you ride alone or with one other person, the choice is simpler: Sena's 5R (two riders, 36 hours of talk time, CA$155.99) is the cheapest unit we found with a manufacturer spec page we could read, and Cardo's Spirit HD (CA$220.60) adds HD speakers. For a group, Sena's 50R and Cardo's Packtalk Edge are the value mesh units, at CA$392.97 and CA$454.99 on 2026-10-23. Below are the picks by use case with the specs and warranty each maker states, and the price a Canadian rider actually pays. For the full lock-in explanation and model-by-model comparison, see our Cardo vs Sena guide and model-by-model guide.
The picks by use case
| Use case | Pick | Maker's stated specs | Lowest (CA$) | Canadian median (CA$) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Solo or passenger, budget | Sena 5R | 2 riders, 36 h talk time, 700 m, 2-year warranty | 155.99 (Revco, CA) | 155.99 (1 store) |
| Cheapest entry | Sena 5R Lite | Same family as the 5R; we did not read its spec page | 122.39 (ADM Sport, CA) | 122.39 (3 stores) |
| Two riders, better audio | Cardo Spirit HD | 2 riders, 600 m, 40 mm HD speakers, 2-year warranty, no mesh | 220.60 (Spain) | 324.99 (1 store) |
| Small Bluetooth group | Cardo Freecom 4X | Up to 4 riders, 1.2 km, 40 mm JBL, 2-year warranty | 298.00 (RidingGear.ca, CA) | 314.00 (2 stores) |
| Mesh group, value (Sena) | Sena 50R | Mesh 3.0, 24-rider Group Mesh, 2 km, 11 h mesh talk time; warranty not stated on page | 392.97 (UK) | 419.99 (1 store) |
| Mesh group, value (Cardo) | Cardo Packtalk Edge | DMC mesh up to 31 riders, 1.6 km, IP67, 3-year warranty | 454.99 (Ottawa Goodtime Centre, CA) | 473.79 (3 stores) |
| Flagship (Cardo) | Cardo Packtalk Pro | Edge features plus crash detection (selected regions, needs phone and data), 45 mm JBL, IP67, 3-year warranty | 549.99 (Ottawa Goodtime Centre, CA) | 634.97 (2 stores) |
| Flagship (Sena) | Sena 60S | Mesh 3.0 and 2.0, 17 h mesh talk time, IPX7, Harman Kardon speakers, Wave, 3-year warranty | 438.34 (FC-Moto, Germany) | none in Canada |
webBikeWorld's 2026 intercom roundup (updated December 2025) lands in a similar place: it names the Packtalk Edge as its top pick for premium mesh, the Spirit HD as the entry-level Cardo, the Sena 5R as the no-frills two-rider unit, and the 50R as Sena's choice for larger groups, noting that it sits tighter to the helmet than the 50S. Brand pages: Cardo, Sena.
Solo or with one passenger: Sena 5R or Cardo Spirit HD
If you only want music, calls and navigation prompts, or to talk to one other person, mesh is wasted money. The Sena 5R lists up to 36 hours of talk time, a 2.5-hour full charge and a 700 m range in open terrain for two riders (Sena 5R). It was CA$155.99 at Revco, the only Canadian store with it in stock; the cheaper 5R Lite (CA$122.39 at ADM Sport) is in the same family, but we did not read its specifications. The Cardo Spirit HD adds 40 mm HD speakers, a 600 m range and a two-year warranty (Cardo Spirit HD); its US price is US$179.95. In Canada it costs more than the 5R: the cheapest landed price was CA$220.60 from Motardinn in Spain, and the only Canadian store, RidingGear.ca, was CA$324.99.
Small groups on Bluetooth: Cardo Freecom 4X
The Freecom 4X connects up to four riders over Bluetooth with a 1.2 km range and a two-year warranty (Cardo Freecom 4X). At CA$298.00 from RidingGear.ca it costs CA$156.99 less than the Packtalk Edge (CA$454.99). It is not mesh, so riders must stay within range of each other and the chain depends on the connection order. For two riders, the Freecom 2X costs CA$245.00 at RidingGear.ca, but the Sena 5R is cheaper.
Mesh groups: Sena 50R, Packtalk Edge or the flagships
Both brands' mesh units suit groups of four or more. The Sena 50R uses Mesh Intercom 3.0, supports 24 riders in Group Mesh and lists 2 km in open terrain and 11 hours of mesh talk time (Sena 50R); the page does not state a warranty term. Its cheapest landed price was CA$392.97 from SportsBikeShop in the UK, against CA$419.99 at GPbikes in Canada. The Packtalk Edge uses DMC for up to 31 riders, with IP67 waterproofing, a three-year warranty and 2 hours of talk time from a 20-minute charge (Cardo Packtalk Edge). It was CA$454.99 at Ottawa Goodtime Centre, a Canadian store. At the top, the Packtalk Pro adds crash detection (limited to on-road riding and selected regions; it needs a phone and data connection) and 45 mm JBL speakers (Cardo Packtalk Pro); in Canada it is CA$549.99. Sena's 60S lists 17 hours of mesh talk time, an IPX7 rating, a three-year warranty and cellular Wave intercom compatibility (Sena 60S). No Canadian store had it in stock on 2026-10-23; the cheapest delivered price was CA$438.34 from FC-Moto in Germany, with duty and brokerage in the total. The 50S lists 13 hours of mesh talk time and a three-year warranty (Sena 50S), at CA$347.51 from Champion Helmets in the Netherlands and CA$477.89 at MotoHut in Canada.
Mixed groups: what works and what does not
A Cardo and a Sena cannot share one mesh group, so mixed groups fall back on Bluetooth pairing, which our Cardo vs Sena guide explains with the manufacturers' own notes. If your club is split, pick a Bluetooth unit that each pair of riders can connect, or standardize on one brand when you buy. An intercom is also not a safety item, so finish the base kit first: see the beginner kit under CA$1,000,, and check that the mount and speakers fit your helmet before you buy; our modular vs full-face guide covers helmet types.
How we picked
We pulled every Cardo and Sena unit in ALLR's Canadian communication catalog and chose one unit per use case, preferring units with in-stock listings at several stores and a manufacturer spec page we could read. Specs and warranty terms are the makers' own claims, read on 2026-10-23; we did not test any unit, and quoted ranges are open-terrain maximums. The Sena 5R Lite and Sena 50S/60S prices come from ALLR's data only where noted; the 5R Lite spec page was not read. webBikeWorld's roundup is a secondary opinion, not a test we ran. No forum or community threads were used. See the methodology page for how prices are built.
Common questions
Is Cardo or Sena better?
Which intercom is best for a solo rider?
How much does a good motorcycle intercom cost in Canada?
Do Cardo and Sena work together?
Is it cheaper to buy an intercom from Europe?
What does crash detection do on the Packtalk Pro?
Prices are a dated snapshot (ALLR data, 2026-10-23); live listings change twice daily. Start at the buyer's guide hub for the rest of the kit.
Sources
Watch the price of what’s in this guide
We’ll email you when the landed price drops (shipping, duties and tax included for your region). Free account, one tap.
